iPhone, iPod touch, and iPad Apps Search Engine
iPhone Apps Users Community
Advanced search | Example: action games
iPhone apps

The Ivory Grin (by Ross Macdonald)

  • #: 110904
  • Price: $9.99 In Apple Store
  • Category: Books
  • Updated: 2011-01-12
  • Current Version: 1.5
  • 1.5
  • Size: 170.00 MB
  • Language: English
  • Seller: Blackstone Audio, Inc
  • Requirements: Compatible with iPhone, iPod touch, and iPad. Requires iOS 3.2 or later
  • Copyright©2009-2010 Blackstone Audio. Portions copyright©2009-2010 by Folium Partners.
  •  Add to Favorite apps

 

Description

THE IVORY GRIN by Ross Macdonald (unabridged) is presented by Blackstone Audio and comes with what is perhaps the best audiobook app available (see FEATURES, below).

A hard-faced woman clad in a blue mink stole and dripping with diamonds hires Lew Archer to track down her former maid, who she claims has stolen her jewelry. Archer can tell he’s being fed a line, but curiosity gets the better of him and he accepts the case. He tracks the wayward maid to a ramshackle motel in a seedy, run-down small town but finds her dead in her tiny room, with her throat slit from ear to ear. Archer digs deeper into the case and discovers a web of deceit and intrigue, with crazed numbers runners from Detroit, gorgeous triple-crossing molls, and a golden-boy shipping heir who’s gone mysteriously missing.

Self-contained, this audiobook app is perfect for your commute, on a trip, or while relaxing. Based on a library-quality recording, this app was built especially for your iPhone and iPod Touch. No unreadable text, no endless scrolling on a tiny screen. The audio is of higher-than-normal quality, making for a great listening experience that will not tire your ears or grate on your nerves.

NOTICE: This app includes the exact same 5-star recording offered elsewhere at much higher prices. It was professionally recorded by Blackstone Audio’s Audie® Award-winning narrator, Grover Gardner. You are not buying yet another amateur or volunteer narration. No clicks, background noises, throat clearing, mispronunciations, tinny voices or monotones will be found here.

•EXPERIENCE. About 6.5 hours of narration. Created as a Folium enhancedAudio™ edition, this book includes extra functions and features not found on lesser players.

•PLAYER CONTROLS. Includes listen (play), pause, multi-speed fast forward/reverse, jump ahead/back, chapter skip, volume control, one-touch chapter- and bookmark browser. There is also a “scrub” bar that finds any point inside the chapter with just a tap.

•SLEEP TIMER. Have you ever fallen asleep watching TV or listening to a book? If so, you'll love this feature. Once set, the book will stop, place a bookmark, and allow you to jump back to where you probably began dozing.

•CLEAR & ELEGANT DESIGN. Simple, clean, intuitive, and smarter than average.

•CHAPTER TIMINGS. Always know how much time it will take to finish a chapter. Plus, the progress bar at the top of the screen shows how far into the book you’ve come.

•OFFLINE LISTENING. You are airplane-ready! Once downloaded, listen uninterrupted without threat from a lost network connection. Downloads are usually just 5-10 minutes, but depend upon your network speed.

•AUTO-BOOKMARKING. The player remembers where you stopped listening and returns to that exact spot when you open the book again.

•TELL-A-FRIEND. An easy way to recommend the book to your friends or Twitter feed.

•FEEDBACK. Share your ideas for books, functions, and features. We are very responsive to our listeners and appreciate all feedback and ideas.

RATING: Suitable for adults who enjoy hard-boiled crime fiction in the vein of Raymond Chandler and Dashiell Hammett

_

“Macdonald’s spare, controlled narration, built for action and speed, conveys the world through which the action moves and gives it meaning, [bringing] scene and character, however swiftly, before the eye without a blur.” (Eudora Welty, New York Times Book Review)

“Ross Macdonald must be ranked high amongst American thriller-writers.” (Times Literary Supplement)

Video Reviews

No video review.

Customer reviews

Write a Review

Be the first to review this app. Write a Review

Forum

Ask a question

Be the first question this app.

Users Community

+ Connect to community


The information may be outdated (2011-04-12 20:34:47). For actual information go to iTunes

Related to «The Ivory Grin (by Ross Macdonald)» applications

The Galton Case (by Ross Macdonald)

The Galton Case (by Ross Macdonald)

THE GALTON CASE by Ross Macdonald (unabridged) is presented by Blackstone Audio and comes with what is perhaps the best audiobook app available (see FEATURES, below).Exciting, beautifully plotted, and written with taste, perception and compassion. (New York Times Book Review)Almost twenty years… more

Price: $9.99 | Category: Books
The Ivory Child, by Henry Rider Haggard

The Ivory Child, by Henry Rider Haggard

The Ivory Childby Henry Rider HaggardAbout Haggard: Henry Rider Haggard was born at Bradenham, Norfolk, to Sir William Meybohm Rider Haggard, a barrister, and Ella Doveton, an author and poet. He was the eighth of ten children. He was initially sent to Garsington Rectory in Oxfordshire to study… more

Price: $1.99 | Category: Books

The Lassa Ward: One Man's Fight Against One of the World's Deadliest…

The Lassa Ward: One Man's Fight Against One of the World's Deadliest DiseasesRoss DonaldsonSt. Martin's PressMay 12, 2009Ross Donaldson is one of just a few who have ventured into dark territory of a country ravaged by war to study one of the worlds most deadly diseases. As an… more

Price: $14.99 | Category: Books
The Princess and the Goblin, by George MacDonald

The Princess and the Goblin, by George MacDonald

The Princess and the Goblinby George MacDonaldPrincess Irene and her newfound friend Curdie battle the goblin king and queen, along with their foul son Prince Froglip, and save the kingdom with old mining knowledge, some thread, and the help of Irene's magical great-great grandmother.About… more

Price: $1.99 | Category: Books
The Princess and Curdie, by George MacDonald

The Princess and Curdie, by George MacDonald

The Princess and Curdieby George MacDonaldA sequel to The Princess and the Goblin: Princess Irene and Curdie are a year or two older, and must overthrow a set of corrupt ministers who are poisoning Irene's father, the king. About MacDonald:George MacDonald (10 December 1824 18 September 1905)… more

Price: $1.99 | Category: Books
Auracle – The Trees Grin Beside Me

Auracle – The Trees Grin Beside Me

Serene and beautifulgentle & dreamy -Apps4Moms Thoughtful, peaceful story-the iPhone Mom This lovely storybook lends itself nicely to teaching about the seasons, nature, and poetry-Digital Storytime "This app will really make you and your child ponder over the beauty of… more

Price: $0.99 | Category: Books
Auracle - The Trees Grin Beside Me

Auracle - The Trees Grin Beside Me

The Trees Grin Beside Me is a part of the Auracle line from Auryn. The app is based on Michelle Macdonalds book by the same name, illustrated by Leah Davis.The Trees Grin Beside Me is an enchanting childrens picture book that celebrates the special relationship that children have with the natural… more

Price: $0.99 | Category: Books
Auracle HD Lite - The Trees Grin Beside Me

Auracle HD Lite - The Trees Grin Beside Me

Serene and beautifulgentle & dreamy -Apps4Moms Thoughtful, peaceful story-the iPhone Mom This lovely storybook lends itself nicely to teaching about the seasons, nature, and poetry-Digital Storytime "This app will really make you and your child ponder over the beauty of… more

Price: free | Category: Books
The Ivory Child

The Ivory Child

Television and computers may be chief source of entertainment in today's fast-paced society, but classic literature will never die. These are the works that have withstood the test of time, captivating us and giving us insight into the true nature of the human condition."The spontaneous… more

Price: $0.99 | Category: Books
The Ivory Snuff Box

The Ivory Snuff Box

The Ivory Snuff Boxby Frederic Arnold KummerYour Mobile Apps Inc. has developed the outstanding ebook reader for iPhone. It includes following features: Reading Anywhere - No internet needed Easy Navigation - Well organized chapters Customizable Reading Experience - Adjustable fonts, size, text… more

Price: $1.99 | Category: Books

View all related to: The Ivory Grin (by Ross Macdonald) applications



Mobile Version
iApps4you.com - is iPhone, iPod touch, and iPad apps search engine and not been authorized, sponsored or approved by Apple Inc.
Copyright © 2017 iApps4you.com.
106 ms.